Uncategorized

I Just discovered ”Finish-A-Long” on Instagram.

 

Wow!  This Instagram Quilting Community is just blowing me over.  Through the Modern Quilt Guild’s Mini Swap, I  found out that many quilters share their work on IG, so I got me an account, grabbed a handle and started following people who seemed to be doing stuff I like.  After a few weeks on board, a lovely Instaquilter named @marci_girl MarciGirlDesigns.com posted this:

img_5765 Being a quilty IG noob, I had never heard of such a thing.  But you can bet it caught my attention.  So I read and re-read everything I could find about it by following link after link on Marci’s blog.

So here’s the bottom line:  I can get encouragment from IG friends and a bit of self-imposed peer pressure to finish projects I have started. Maybe, if I actually finish a few things, I can win some prizes! No-brainer:  I’m in!

So after scouring the rules, here’s my quick blog to summarize my FAL list:

  1. Debbie’s Retirement Quilt.

    img_5535
    The lattice siggy front

    Come hell or high water, this one’s gotta be done by the beginning of next month for a Retirement Party.  I have to finish piecing the backing panel, sandwich, quilt, bind and label.

    2.  PJ Had a Little Lamb.

    img_5742

    Depending on how quickly I can wrap up things for Debbie, this one is all planned out–A grey background with this little lambie silhouette scrappy appliqueed upon it.  It is no more than a dream and pile of fabric, so we’ll see–Baby’s due end of February!

    3.  Prongs.

    img_5211

    This handsome deer is hoping to be whipped up into a pillow cover for a friend before winter’s gone.

    4.  Mr. and Mrs. Pillows

     img_5764

    These are a sadly late house-warming present for my sister- and brother-in law.  Someday, they will be ready.  Hopefully before April.

    5.  Allie Owl Lap Quilt

    img_4631Allie needs to be backed, basted, quilted, bound. She is just dying to decorate my sacred sewing space!

    6.  Master Bedroom Bedrunner

    This one is partway quilted.  I just was working so quickly at it when I joined the MQG Mini-swap and got side-tracked.  Who knows.  It’s about 1/3 of the way done at this point, in terms of the quilting, and I am going with a fairly simple quilting pattern…I just might get’er done!

    7.  Friendship Squaredancing

    img_5737

    If a miracle happens, this will get done this year.  It was made up of a lot of HST’s from a friendship square swap through a LQS, Kindred Spirits.  I worked it out fairly quickly and was really enjoying the process, until I screwed up big-time on the quilting.   I wound up getting my QITD lines all shifty and then  my machine kept skipping stitches when I was fmq’ing the darn thing.  I was devastated and put it aside for over a year.  I had to rip out a whole lot of stitiches while driving to NB this summer.  We’ll see if this guy ever gets finished.

    I know this list is a bit huge, but trust me, there are a whole stack of other UFO’s I left out!  And as I understand it, it doesn’t hurt to list more than you think you can finish.  I’m hoping to get through about 1/2 of these.

    Good luck finishing your UFO’s, my newfound Instaquilty Finish-A-Long friends!  And thanks to all the lovely bloggers who support this fantastic motivator!  See you at the end of the quarter with updates!

    *This is a repost of a previous page posted about a month ago, which was not originally categorized as a blog post by accident.  I am no blogger, so I just moved it.  Sorry guys.

    Tara

Leave a Reply

